recipients of past awards

*

IRISHMAN OF THE YEAR

M. Raymond McGowan*	1974
Brother Bernard McKenna*	1975
Paul Kiernan*	1976
John L. Keaveney	
David B. Kelly*	1978
Edward J. Simmons*	1979
Monsignor John E. Grimes*	1980
Henry T. Leonard*	
Thomas F. Kelaher*	1982
Joseph V. McLoone*	
Monsignor Robert T. Bulman*	1984
Robert E. Brennan	1985
Charles "Buck" Smith*	1986
Robert H. Doherty, Jr.*	1987
Thomas T. Warshaw*	1988
Brother Andrew O'Gara, FSC*	1989
Robert E. Sexton, MD*	1990
John S. Feeney, Jr.*	1991
Rev. John J. Mannion*	
Joseph P. Briody	
Thomas J. Powers	
Philip C. Carling*	
Thomas J. Carey*	1996
Patrick J. Maroney	

Michael J. Doolan*	1998
Raymond B. O'Hare	1999
Brother Peter Mannion, FSC*	2000
Timothy E. Ryan	2001
William B. O'Grady, MD	
Clarence G. Reed*	2003
Joe Finn*	2004
Patrick J. Dwyer, MD *	
Michael T. Warshaw, Esq	2006
Michael J. Cahill, MD	2007
Jack L. Kraft, Esq	2008
Reverend Brian Thomas Butch	2009
Tim McLoone	2010
Robert T. Curley	
John M. Kiely	2012
Tom Weatherall	2013
Robert Swain, Esq.	2014
Gerald V. (Jerry) Lynch	2015
Dr. John Edward Feeney	2016
Brother Frank Byrne, FSC	
Timothy C. Hearne, Jr.	2018
The Byrne Brothers	2019
Henry P. McNally	2022

THE ORDER OF ST. BRENDAN

Terrence Whelan*	1977
John Cahill	1980
Edward Connolly	1981
John J. O'Donneĺl*	
Patrick Gaynor	
Andrew M. Smith*	
Patrick Kenny	
Thomas A. McCormack	
Thomas J. Brennan	
Patrick Ward	
Patrick J. Sheridan, Sr.*	
Martin Loftus*	
Joseph A. Kelly, SJ*	
Monsignor Kevin Flanagan	1992
Thomas J. Healy	1993
John Owens	
Malcolm O'Sullivan, FSC	
Monsignor Sean P. Flynn	
William M. O'Doherty*	
Reverend James Brady	
Kevin P. Guerin	

Reverend Thomas O'Connor*	2000
Reverend Daniel G. Cahill	2001
Monsignor Michael J. Walsh	2003
Jeremiah Greaney	
Oliver Keelan	
Patrick J. Farrell	
Charles McCague	
Patrick Harold Fagan*	
Martin T. Nolan	
Declan J. O'Scanlon, M.D.	
Michael Dunphy	
Patrick J. Mc Gowan	
Eugene Devlin	2013
Reverend Harold G. Cullen	
Mark Fox	
John P. Sheridan	
Mícheál Ó Máille	
Raymond O'Hanlon	2018
Fr. Martin O'Reilly	2010
David P. Cahill	

* Deceased

recipients of past awards

THE COMMODORE JOHN BARRY AWARD

Presented on rare occasion for valor in the Irish tradition in the defense for the United States of America.

- 1981 Timothy J. McCarthy, a US Secret Service Agent who jumped into the line of fire and took bullets intended for President Reagan.
- **1983** Kenneth Taylor*, a Canadian ambassador to Iran who, at great risk, provided safe haven for US Embassy personnel and spirited them safely out of the country.
- 1985 Sharon Christa Corrigan McAuliffe*, the teacher-astronaut who lost her life in the explosion of the "Challenger" space craft.
- **1993 Robert F. O'Connor, Jr.**, a Newark police officer who, in seven years on the force, received almost thirty citations and two Medals of Honor for outstanding performance and bravery under fire.
- 2000 Senator John McCain, as a Navy pilot during the Vietnam War, he was shot down and captured. He spent nearly six years as a POW in Hanoi, two of them in solitary confinement.
- 2002 NYPD, FDNY, OEM, PAPD and NYC Department of Sanitation for their bravery and valor on September 11th, 2001.
- 2004 Cdr. Thomas J. Gorman, a retired Navy Commander who exhibited great pride in his country and who also received a direct commendation from President Nixon for his work in repatriating prisoners of war from Vietnam.
- 2005 1st Lt. Sean Cox, USMA, as a Logistics Specialist has seen duty in Japan, South Korea, the Philippines and Iraq.
- 2006 Capt. Patrick F. Mullevey, USMC, awarded the Presidential Unit Citation for his role as a platoon leader in combat during Operation Iraqi Freedom.
- 2007 Congressman Chris Smith, for more than two decades of dedicated service on behalf of our country's veterans; one of Congress' leading advocates for human rights and his work in seeking a lasting peace in Northern Ireland and for his steadfast pro-life stance.
- 2008 Lt. Michael P. Murphy*, a United States Navy SEAL, for heroism above and beyond the call of duty. Lt. Murphy, while commanding a four member SEAL Team in the mountains of Afghanistan knowingly and willingly exposed himself to deadly enemy fire in an attempt to save his men. He was mortally wounded. Lt. Michael Patrick Murphy, USN SEAL was posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor; the first member of the US Navy since the Vietnam War to receive this great honor.
- 2009 Lt. Brian Brennan, On May 7, 2008, while deployed to Afghanistan and commanding a 5 vehicle patrol of the 101st Airborne Rangers an IED exploded under his Humvee. Brian suffered cardiac arrest, severe brain injuries, multiple compound fractures, shattered femur, among other wounds. After multiple surgeries abroad, including partial amputations of both legs, Brian was transported to Walter Reed Army Hospital. He remained in a non-cognitive state until the end of a visit by General David Petraeus, Commanding General of Multi-National Force - Iraq, who uttered the word "Currahee" (a Cherokee word meaning "stand alone" and the 506 Infantry motto); inexplicably Brian sat up in his bed at attention and became very emotional. Brian's subsequent recovery has been nothing short of miraculous, defying all medical prognostications.
- 2011 Lt. Robert W. Allison, Jr., USMC, was selected as the Commodore John Barry Award recipient for his leadership and meritorious service with the USMC Expeditionary Force during Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan.
- 2012 Vice Admiral Joseph Maguire, USN (ret), served the United States for 36 years at every level of the SEAL Community, including as commander of the Naval Component of the US Special Operations Command.
- **2013** Lt. General John F. Mulholland, Jr., was selected as the Commodore John Barry Award recipient for his leadership following the attack against America on September 11, 2001 and his unwavering command of the Special Forces of the United States against the Taliban and Al Qaeda.
- 2014 William McCabe, for conspicuous service in hostile action during the Vietnam War for which the recipient was cited for heroism.
- **2016 Philip B. McGuire,** In recognition of the exceptional professionalism and bold initiative in the face of extreme danger during the Vietnam Conflict for which the Bronze Star was awarded in the highest tradition of the United States Marine Corps and the United States Naval Service.
- **2017** Lt. Michael Kiernan Clancy, for his professionalism and commitment to his country including his service as a leading member of law enforcement in Monmouth County for which he has received numerous accolades and the utmost respect of his peers.
- **2019** Jason Martin, Jason Martin was selected because of his courageous service to our nation. He is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy and completed Navy Seal training. Thereafter, as a member of Seal Team 3 he was deployed three times to the Middle East and Africa. Since retiring from the Navy Jason has dedicated his many talents to supporting his family and improving his community.
- 2022 Matthew Eric O'Neil for service to our country in the Irish Tradition. Matt received numerous medals including the Purple Heart, Afghan Campaign Medal with 2 stars and Global War on Terrorism Medal. Thank you for your service.

* Deceased